Bombardier Wins Order to Supply New Generation MOVIA Metro Fleet for Stockholm

Jun 6, 2013 07:43 ET

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - June 6, 2013) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that it has won an order from SL, the Stockholm Public Transport Authority, to deliver the new generation C30 metro fleet for Stockholm, Sweden, with a contract to provide 96 MOVIA metro vehicles. The contract includes an option for up to 80 further vehicles. The firm order is valued at approximately 5.1 billion SEK (590 million euro, $771 million US).

Based on the highly successful MOVIA metro platform, which Bombardier has delivered to major cities worldwide from New York to London to Singapore, the new high-technology MOVIA C30 metros have been customised to meet the specific requirements of SL for high availability, accessibility, reliability and passenger comfort. The new fleet will run on the Red Line connecting Stockholm's north-eastern and south-western suburbs directly with the city centre. The four-car vehicles, fitted with a driver's cab at each end, are also equipped with advanced driverless functionality.

The new air-conditioned MOVIA C30 metros offer improved access for passengers with restricted mobility. The vehicles feature advanced passenger information systems and fulfil the highest environmental standards regarding energy consumption and choice of almost entirely recyclable materials. Delivery is scheduled to start in November 2016 with the start of traffic scheduled in early 2017.

The order confirms Bombardier's leadership in providing innovative, sustainable metro solutions worldwide. Bombardier MOVIA metros are high-tech, high capacity trains that deliver rapid, reliable and cost-effective transport for more than seven billion passenger trips globally every year, including major cities like Montréal, Berlin, Shanghai and New Delhi, with new automated vehicles also entering service in Singapore. Bombardier has sold more than 4,000 MOVIA metro cars to date and they travel an average of about 120,000 km per year.

With the new MOVIA C30 metro, SL is once again proving its leadership as a modern operator. The vehicles' passenger comfort, extra capacity and design fit perfectly into a city that is a trend-setter for the entire world. They are equipped with a number of advanced technical features including the extremely energy efficient BOMBARDIER FLEXX Eco bogies that also reduce maintenance costs and the well-proven BOMBARDIER MITRAC propulsion system. These features contribute to maximum passenger capacity with minimal energy consumption and low noise.

The vehicles will travel around 150,000 km per year and will offer the system capacity to transport up to 60,000 passengers per hour. Bombardier will also provide its BOMBARDIER ORBIFLO intelligent train to wayside communication system, which is linked to the driverless feature and also provides real-time service information and passenger service updates.

Bombardier has supplied metro cars to Stockholm for over 60 years, including the C20 series that forms the backbone of the Stockholm metro fleet. The new generation C30 vehicles bring the latest metro technology to enhance the capacity and performance of the city's transport system.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, MOVIA, FLEXX, MITRAC, ORBIFLO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa, Turkey and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728

Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK and Middle East: +44 7785 450 065

Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

For further information, please contact:

Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com